Enter Keyword and Search

Committee on Digital Payments submits its Final Report to the Union Finance Minister

with 0 Comment
Committee on Digital Payments submits its Final Report to the Union Finance Minister

Press Information Bureau 
Government of India
Ministry of Finance

09-December-2016 19:08 IST

Committee on Digital Payments headed by Shri. Ratan P Watal, Principal Advisor, NITI Aayog and former Finance Secretary submits its Final Report to the Union Finance Minister Shri Arun Jaitley today

The Committee on Digital Payments constituted by the Ministry of Finance, Department of Economic Affairs under the Chairmanship of Shri. Ratan P. Watal, Principal Advisor, NITI Aayog and former Finance Secretary to the Government of India today submitted its Final Report to the Union Finance Minister Shri Arun Jaitley in his office in national capital. In its Report, the Committee has  recommended that a medium term strategy for accelerating growth of Digital Payments in India with a regulatory regime which is conducive to bridging the Digital divide by promoting competition, open access & interoperability in payments. The Report recommends inclusion of financially and socially excluded groups and assimilation of emerging technologies in the market, while safeguarding security of Digital Transactions and providing level playing to all stakeholders and new players who will enter this new transaction space.  It has suggested inter-operability of the payments system between banks and non-banks, up-gradation of the digital payment infrastructure and institutions and a framework to reward innovations and for leading efforts in enabling digital payments.

This Committee was seized of the developments following the decision of the Government to cancel legal tender character of currency of high denominations. The Committee has calibrated its recommendations accordingly and has provided a suitable framework for smooth and speedy transition towards a Digital Payments Economy.

The Committee had earlier submitted an Interim Report to Ministry of Finance on 21st November 2016.

Towards finalization of the Report, the Committee engaged extensively with all stakeholders and technology groups including Reserve Bank of India, State Governments, Comptroller Auditor General of India, Payment companies, Technology Companies and the Academia.

Earlier, the Ministry of Finance, Department of Economic Affairs had constituted a Committee on Digital Payments to review the payment systems in the country and to recommend appropriate measures for encouraging Digital Payments. The Committee was constituted on 23rd August 2016 under the Chairmanship of Shri. Ratan P. Watal,  Principal Advisor, NITI Aayog and former Finance Secretary to the Government of India.
The terms of reference and composition of this Committee were as follows:
Terms of Reference:
  • To study and recommend need for charges, if any, in the regulatory mechanism and any legislation, relevant for the purpose of promotion of payments by digital modes
  • To study and recommend ways for leveraging Unique Identification Number or any other proof of identity for authentication of card/digital transactions and setting up of a Centralised KYC Registry;
  • To study introduction of single window system of Payment Gateway to accept all types of Cards/ Digital Payments of Government receipts;
  • To study feasibility and framing rules for creating a payments history of all Digital Payments and create necessary linkage between payments transaction history and credit information;
  • To study and recommend various measures to incentivize transactions through cards and digital means.
  • To study global best practices in payments including initiatives taken by various Governments/ Government Agencies
  • To identify market failure (s), if any, along with suitable interventions that may be implemented to promote payment by card/digital means
  • To identify regulatory bottlenecks, if any, and suggest changes to promote payment by card/ digital means
  • To study and make recommendations on any other matter related to promotion of payments through Cards and Digital Means

Composition of the Committee
Members of this Committee were: Shri H. R. Khan, Former Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India; Secretary, Department of Investment and Public Asset Management; President, NASSCOM; Chairman, Indian Banks Association; Chairman, Payments Council of India; President. Internet and Mobile Association of India; Chairman, Central Board of Direct Taxes; Director General, Unique Identification Authority of India; Executive Director, Reserve Bank of India; and Joint Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance. The Committee was also supported by Shri. B.N. Satpathy, Consultant, Ms. Deepika Srivastava, OSD and Shri. Suneet Mohan, Young Professional from NITI Aayog.

The National Institute of Public Finance and Policy (NIPFP) and Department of Economic Affairs (DEA) programme team headed by Shri. Ashish Aggarwal acted as the secretariat for this Committee. The team also included Shri. Pratik Datta, Shri. Aditya Kumar Rajput & Shri. Indrajeet Sarkar.
Related Posts...


Post a Comment

Recent Stories...


90Paisa - Dedicated to Central Government Employees and Pensioners. As and when orders amending the rules are published by the Government, the amendment orders will be published in our blog immediately. Readers are requested to refer to the source link is given at the end of the post.
All efforts have been made to ensure accuracy of the content on this blog, the same should not be construed as a statement of law or used for any legal purposes. 90paisa accepts no responsibility in relation to the accuracy, completeness, usefulness or otherwise, of the contents. Users are advised to verify/check any information with the relevant department(s) and/or other source(s), and to obtain any appropriate professional advice before acting on the information provided in the blog.
Links to other websites that have been included on this blog are provided for public convenience only.
90paisa is not responsible for the contents or reliability of linked websites and does not necessarily endorse the view expressed within them. We cannot guarantee the availability of such linked pages at all times.
10 crore viewers…90 Paisa Blog touches new heights
Making a Mark Achieved 100 Million Page Views - "Central Government Employees News" Blog
We are proud of our latest accomplishment – 90Paisa Blog, the first ever blog for Central Government employees, has now crossed 10 crore hits!!!
From the bottom of our hearts, we express our sincere gratitude to all our patrons who have been supporting us all along.

Civilian Pay Matrix

Defence Pay Matrix

Popular Posts

Ever Green Posts

Ever Remembering Pots..!

Recent Posts